Oh hey! We’re back, though I no longer live in apartment 608. Since Yawita has been jet-setting of late and I’ve moved to central Virginia to do this, we’ve been a little overwhelmed.

Last month, our farmmune became members of Steadfast Farm’s Omnivore CSA, which includes whole wheat flour, wheatberries, black beans, beef, and trout delivered monthly from Red Hill, VA. We love Steadfast because it’s freaking awesome they’re doing local wheat and dried beans, and also because Brian smokes a mean trout, and because Mihr is really nice and Sylas is a cutie. But we digress.

As someone who is still intermittently vegetarian and gluten-free, I’ve obviously gravitated towards the black beans. My favorite way of preparing them is similar to Claire’s Cuban Black Bean soup, but thicker. Really, I’m just a sucker for fennel seed in black beans.

Last time I made our Steadfast beans, I used the leftovers to make some curried veggie burgers. Since Jo recently asked for quick protein snacks that can keep well, I thought I’d share this curried veggie burger recipe, inspired by the Primlani Kitchen.

Ingredients:

½ c. cooked wild rice (or brown rice, if you are constrained by available products or available funds)

1 c. cooked black quinoa

2 c. cooked black beans

2 jalapenos, diced

1 small red onion, diced

1 small green pepper, diced

2 whole star anise

1 t. grated ginger or ½ t. ground ginger

1 t. garam masala

1 t. cumin

1 t. cayenne pepper

salt and pepper to taste

Optional: 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

Instructions:

Saute onion, ginger, all the peppers, and star anise till softened, approximately ten minutes. Remove the star anise before proceeding. Add onions and peppers to the rice and quinoa.

Mash one cup of black beans to a smooth purée and add to the mixture, along with the rest of the cooked beans. Add the rest of the seasonings.

Grill or fry the patties until golden brown and seared.

We served these over my newest G-free product obsession, millet and flax rolls from Sami’s Bakery. To clarify, I have become obsessed with Sami’s Bakery in general, not just the rolls. Also served with sharp cheddar and avocado.

You can make this mash and save it in the fridge for a few days, or freeze some patties for a rainy day, which apparently happens frequently in Geneva.

Note on prices: Yes, black quinoa is expensive. I’m not quite sure what to do about this. I had some leftover from when I had a job, so decided to get crazy by cooking it this week. Not sure when we will replenish our stocks, if ever.

